short and sweet

i hate to see you go
but you walking out the door
was exactly what I needed to know that you meant no

you know I didn’t even see you
you were so far off my radar
you weren’t shiny and new
you were just there
but then suddenly you were there

and I was in awe
because you felt warmer
than I’ve felt all winter
and together we burned brighter

I didn’t want to let you go
just because we love differently
But your fear speaks louder than your urge to stay
and I will respect that

and after a breath I will try to be there
and we may try our hands at wary friendship
maybe I can love without restraint
and maybe you can love me in a different way

Leave a Reply

